THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD

LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION

'Hilarious, compelling, painful, enlightening, honest. I loved it' - Dolly Alderton

'Brilliant, timely, funny, heartbreaking' - Jojo Moyes

'A deliciously funny, characterful, topical and thrilling novel for our times' - Bernardine Evaristo, WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE

Product details

  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Trapeze; 01 edition (6 Feb. 2020)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1409180077
  • ISBN-13: 978-1409180074
  • Product Dimensions: 12.8 x 3 x 19.6 cm

 

 

Meet Queenie.

She just can't cut a break. Well, apart from one from her long term boyfriend, Tom. That's just a breakthrough. Definitely not a break-up. Stuck between a boss who doesn't seem to see her, a family who don't seem to listen (if it's not Jesus or water rates, they're not interested), and trying to fit in two worlds that don't really understand her, it's no wonder she's struggling.

She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life?

A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on life, love, race and family, Queenie will have you nodding in recognition, crying in solidarity and rooting for this unforgettable character every step of the way.

Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Sally Rooney, Diana Evans and Phoebe Waller-Bridge.

'This is an important, timely and disarming novel, thirst-quenching and long overdue: one that will be treasured by "any type of black girl" and hordes of other readers besides.' - Guardian

******

LONGLISTED FOR THE JHALAK PRIZE

SHORTLISTED FOR WATERSTONES BOOK OF THE YEAR

SHORTLISTED FOR FOYLES BOOK OF THE YEAR

BLACKWELL'S DEBUT NOVEL OF THE YEAR

NAMED ONE OF THE TIMESGUARDIANSUNDAY TIMESDAILY MAIL AND EVENING STANDARD'S BEST BOOKS OF 2019

 

£8.99

quotes

quotes1

Words From Our Customers

"At last a company that caters for children of colour.  Their books are inspirational, encouraging and true to the authenticity of our children.  A great grand parent, grand parent and mother."

Mrs  O. Charles